Fortid was formed in Iceland as a solo project. In 2003 the debut was released through entitled “Völuspá part I: Thors Anger”. Due to this being a side project at the current time, the second album “Völuspá part II: The Arrival of Fenris” did not hit the scene until in 2007.
In 2008, after a move to Norway FORTÍÐ was changed into a full line up band and put it in priority of his musical projects. While searching for the right people, he finished the last part of the trilogy; “Völuspá part III: Fall of the Ages”.
In 2009 the first ever FORTÍÐ show was held in Oslo and in the same year the band signed a contract with a German label.
After a few changes in the line-up, they released another album “Pagan Prophecies’ in 2012.